Arts and culture live here.

Go support, create, and celebrate!

Events

Tuesday, February 27

Art Works February Exhibits
RVA Downtown , Free

The last days of winter will be primal and spontaneous at Art Works' 4th Friday reception featuring works by Titus Marques and dance by RVA Dance Collective....

Bon à Tirer Prints & Monotypes: From the Center Street Studio
RVA Northside , Free

Bon à Tirer Prints & Monotypes: From the Center Street Studio Archives on view February 22 through May 11, 2018, in the Harnett Museum of Art, features...

Carli Holcomb TRANSIENT Exhibit Run
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

Emerging artist, Carli Holcomb, returns to Quirk Gallery to present Transient, a hopeful re-encounter with a landscape of her past and the melancholic...

Going Places
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

Where did you go today? And how did you get there? We have developed so many modes of transportation that travel is possible like never before. Going Places...

Nuestras Historias: Latinos in Richmond
Ashland, Charles City, Chesterfield, Colonial Heights, Goochland, Hanover, Henrico, Hopewell, New Kent, Petersburg, Powhatan, RVA Arts & Cultural District, RVA Downtown, RVA East End, RVA Northside, RVA Southside, RVA West End

There are approximately 100,000 Latinos in the Richmond metropolitan area who represent a wide range of backgrounds and experiences. As Latinos immigrate to...

Stitching Culture: Chinese Textiles from the Carver Collection
RVA Northside , Free

Stitching Culture: Chinese Textiles from the Carver Collection on view February 8 through December 9, 2018, in the Lora Robins Gallery of Design from Nature,...

Student Art Display
Henrico , Free

See a display of artwork created by students at Highland Springs High School. A variety of 2D and 3D works will be featured.

The Abstract Athlete
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

1708 Gallery is pleased to present The Abstract Athlete, an exhibition that explores the correlation between art, sport, and science. Organized in...

The Horse in Ancient Greek Art
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

From myth and legend to warfare, sport, and transportation, the horse played an integral role in ancient Greek culture. Wealthy Greeks belonged to the social...

WWI Centennial Exhibition
RVA Arts & Cultural District , $

WW1 America features more than 100 objects, powerful multimedia presentations, and interactive experiences—focusing on the war as a transformational event....

LET THE LIGHT SHINE BRITE
8am
RVA Downtown , Free

The Main Street Gallery in association with Walton Gallery Inc., presents “Let the Light Shine Brite”. This is a group exhibition curated by Eric Walton,...

"The Last Swiss Holocaust Survivors" Exhibit
9am
RVA Downtown , Free

Join us for the "The Last Swiss Holocaust Survivors", a powerful traveling exhibition that gives voice to the women and men who built a new life in...

True Sons of Freedom: A Photographic Exhibition
9am
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

This free exhibition at the Library of Virginia explores the stories of Virginia’s African American soldiers who served during World War I. More than just...

Exhibition - VIRGINIA JAZZ: The Early Years
10am
RVA Downtown , $

Richmond Jazz Society presents the exhibition VIRGINIA JAZZ: The Early Years, highlighting over 30 Virginia artists who made significant contributions,...

Richard Carlyon: A Network of Possibilities
10am
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

A pivotal figure in the Richmond arts community, Richard Carlyon (1930-2006) maintained an active and diverse studio practice for over five decades. "A...

Story Time at McKenney Library
10:30am
Hopewell , Free

Story time programs aim to instill a love of reading by encouraging parents and other special adults to read aloud to children. Activities in Story Time...

Iterations: Contemporary Approaches to Drawing
1pm
RVA West End , Free

The artists featured in this exhibition challenge traditional, representational approaches to drawing and work with media and techniques not often associated...

The Personal is Political: Images of Women from the Harnett Print Study Center Collection
1pm
Free

The prints in the exhibition depict women either enacting or struggling against "roles" defined by society.

Turtles in Time: From Fossils to the Present
1pm
Free

The exhibition features more than 50 fossil turtle specimens from around the world.

LEGO Club
4pm
Hopewell , Free

The Appomattox Regional Library System is very excited to bring back Lego Club! If you are already a Lego Master Builder or even if you're a first timer,...

Book Reading and Signing with Cheston Knapp, author of Up Up, Down Down
6pm
RVA Arts & Cultural District , Free

About the book: For fans of John Jeremiah Sullivan and Wells Tower, a “glittering,” (Leslie Jamison), “always smart, often hilarious, and ultimately...

Civil War in Dinwiddie County (History in our Backyard series)
6pm
Hopewell , Free

Ranger Aaron Rowland of the Petersburg National Battlefield will be coming to speak about the Battle of Five Forks and the fighting in Dinwiddie that led up...

Cooking Demo and Author Talk
6pm
RVA Downtown , Free

Keva Miller, personal chef and motivational speaker, will host a live cooking demo and book talk. She is the author of Trill Prep, a unique cookbook that...

Tuesday, February 27